If I showed you who I am, would you still love me?

This creative month of May, my soul circle encouraged each one of us to write a poem about ourselves on whatever we wanted to share with the group. I have been contemplating vulnerability- the balance of who I know myself to be and what I allow others to see, I was moved to write the following:

You think you see me, but only what I care to share with you. I miss my life that was so effortlessly lived at one time. Now, I protect those pieces of me that I fought so desperately to put back together. I have heard it say that you are strongest at the broken places, but trust is difficult. Am I strong enough, do I dare let you in? I am the beautiful little child that dances behind the screen. At the same time, I am the gentle soul whose anxiety scares her beyond a doubt. I am desperate to be the free spirit again – to roam in the mystical here on Earth. I am destined to live out my days wonderfully. But if I showed you all of me,  would you honor that gift. Would you judge me because you do not understand or would you play with me only to learn more? If I showed you who I am, flaws and gifts alike, would you still love me? 

  

Leave a Reply

emotionspassion.com

emotional musings - original content

Endlessly Blogging

Blogging | Complaing | Expressing!

Journey To Somewhere

Read Where My Journey Takes Me

Extra Dry Martini

Straight up, with a twist.

Read Between the Minds

Poetry, Photography and Random Thoughts of Life

What an Amazing World!

Seeing, feeling and exploring places and cultures of the world

glamorpolish

Ocean is made up of gazillion drops of water. So are YOU made up of gazillion ideas...

